Since its inception, the New Mexico Association of Nurse Anesthetists (NMANA) has continued in the forefront of advancing the profession of Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs). NMANA members work in every conceivable setting, in all parts of New Mexico both in civilian and military duty. 

The credential CRNA (Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist) came into existence in 1956. CRNAs are anesthesia professionals who safely administer more than 34 million anesthetics to patients each year in the United States, according to the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) 2012 Practice Profile Survey. CRNAs are the primary providers of anesthesia care in rural America, enabling healthcare facilities in medically underserved areas to offer obstetrical, surgical, pain management and trauma stabilization services. In some states, CRNAs are the sole providers in nearly 100 percent of the rural hospitals.

Research shows that Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) are the most cost-effective anesthesia providers with an exceptional safety record. In today's changing healthcare environment, patients want healthcare delivered with personal care, at a lower cost, with a high degree of confidence. CRNAs deliver all of these.

So that you will have the information to better understand the role that anesthesia care and pain management play in the delivery of healthcare, NMANA.org will provide you with resources about the profession of Nurse Anesthetists, pertinent legislation in New Mexico, what to expect during surgery and frequently asked questions about your care. 



Nurse Anesthesia - no longer the best-kept secret in health care.

Established in the late 1800′s as the first clinical nursing specialty, nurse anesthesia developed in response to the growing need surgeons had for anesthetists. Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs), and the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) have played significant roles in developing the practice of anesthesia. Today, more than 27,000 CRNAs provide cost-effective, quality patient care that is essential to America’s health care system.

Meeting the needs of tomorrow

CRNAs have a proud history of meeting the challenges of changing health care trends. The recent acceleration of managed health care services will provide additional opportunities and new challenges for these advanced practice nurses. CRNAs will continue to be recognized as anesthesia specialists providing safe patient care.

How do CRNAs impact health care?

As anesthesia specialists, CRNAs administer approximately 65% of the 26 million anesthetics given to patients in the U.S. each year. As advanced practice nurses, CRNAs can serve in a variety of capacities in their daily practice, such as clinician, educator, administrator, manager and researcher.

  • CRNAs administer anesthesia for all types of surgical cases, using all anesthetic techniques and practice in every setting in which anesthesia is delivered, from university-based medical centers to free-standing surgical facilities.
  • CRNA’s are the sole anesthesia providers in more than 70% of rural hospitals in the United States, affording some 70 million rural Americans access to anesthesia. CRNAs provide a significant amount of the anesthesia in inner cities as well.
  • CRNA’s are qualified and permitted by state law or regulations to practice in every state of the nation.
  • CRNA’s provide safe, effective anesthesia services for millions of patients each year.

Basic requirements for CRNAs?

The education and experience required to become a CRNA include:

  • A Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) or other appropriate baccalaureate degree.
  • A current license as a registered nurse.
  • At least one year’s experience in an acute care nursing setting.
  • Graduation from an accredited school of nurse anesthesia educational program ranging from 24-36 months, depending upon university requirements. These programs offer a graduate degree and include clinical training in university-based or large community hospitals.
  • Pass a national certification examination following graduation, and complete a continuing education and recertification program every two years thereafter.

The above information was provided by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. 
For more information visit www.aana.com.